A new year wish for aspiring romance writers

 

Good Morning everyone! A new year has dawned! As I was dancing the night away at the New Year Eve party, Brad Paisley’s lyrics strummed in my mind; “Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”

 

I’m Tanu Jain and my debut novel ‘His Captive Indian Princess’ for Mills and Boon hit the stands in October, 2013. This blog is my New Year wish and encouragement especially for aspiring writers. Harlequin Passions Contest, an awesome publishing opportunity for writers bitten by the writing bug is on. So, wake up people and put the quill to paper!

 

I’d like to share with you all, a little bit of what my publishing journey has been like. Writing has been my passion and I have been imagining stories from as far back as I can remember. Snuggled in bed, the lights put out by my mother, my mind would begin to wander on a voyage of imagination. Books and especially the countless Mills and Boon that I read fuelled my imagination. As I grew older, strangers I met randomly, on the street, in the bus, in college, at parties or gatherings would fascinate me and I would weave stories around their day-to-day life, what they did and whom they loved. But I hid my imaginings, afraid that I would be labeled ‘Ms. Prying Eyes’ or worse, ‘A Fanciful Fabricator’!

 

The tight knot inside me loosened when I sat down and chanced to write the story simmering inside me. The pent up feeling that was released buoyed me up. I wrote an eminently forgettable love story about a handsome Greek shipping magnate and heartbreakingly beautiful half Greek, half English heroine that was predictably rejected.

 

One day as I sat ruminating amongst the ruins of an ancient fort the heroine of my book, princess Gauri Rao, careened into my musings and hot on her heels, in relentless pursuit, came the dashing HH Vikramaditya Singh. At loggerheads with each other, they begged to be punished with a happy ending and I meted it out to them   painstakingly.  Now they can often be seen strolling around the fort, hand in hand, smiling into each other’s eyes, secure in their love for each other and at peace.

 

I too, am at peace having scratched the writing itch once. But as reputations go, itches have to be scratched again and again. But hey, I’m not complaining! I’m raring to go.

 

Because I know that when stories beg to be told and characters clamour to come out not paying heed to them can be detrimental to one’s health and wellbeing.

 

So, all you fellow writers out there, gird your loins and follow your dream. Soon the ‘aspiring writer’ tag will be removed and you will become a bona fide published writer.

 

As T.S. Eliot wrote,

 

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language

 

And next year’s words await another voice.”

 

2 thoughts on “A new year wish for aspiring romance writers

Leave a Reply

